Deleting your on facebook account supplied to be a long and also tedious process, however not anymore. We’ll display you exactly how to easily deactivate her account, or delete the forever if she done through social media – yes, yes sir a large difference between the two. To find out an ext about that, as well as learn how to remove particular content indigenous your on facebook profile, check the end our comprehensive guide below.

You are watching: How do you delete yourself from facebook

Let’s confront it: utilizing Facebook really doesn’t do any kind of favors for her privacy online. You’ll more than likely remind yourself of every the large scandals that have happened recently.

The Cambridge Analytica fiasco, where numerous Facebook users had their data harvested, is still fresh in our minds – and also even if Zuckerberg and agency distanced us by calling the a “breach of trust”, the social media gigantic has had actually its very own share the questionable moves.

Examples selection from giving dozens of that company “special access” to perceptible user info, to questioning U.S. Banks for your customers’ financial data. As it turns out, it’s no super complicated to catch Facebook acting shady – since it regularly does.

The latest piece of poor news for Facebook users is a massive defense breach, whereby 50 million civilization had their protection tokens compromised. If that’s the last straw because that you and you’re all set to move on from the society media platform, you’ve involved the best place.

It’s time to regain your digital privacy. Let’s gain started!


BE AWARE: Every click, every share, and every download deserve to be and also is tracked, stored, and also sold by application creators, internet company providers, and telecom companies. Only a VPN like ExpressVPN can protect you and prevent these 3rd parties from collecting and selling her sensitive data.
Get far better privacy now with ExpressVPN!

Deactivating vs Deleting on facebook – What You must Know

Before we acquire to the step-by-step walk through, it’s vital to recognize the two choices Facebook provides you as soon as you decision to close your account.

You can select to either deactivate her profile, or fully remove it indigenous existence. Together you have the right to probably guess, the former option keeps your data ~ above the platform, while the latter erases it completely.

If friend deactivate your on facebook account:

No one as well as you will be able to see her profile.Specific information, such as sent messages, will continue to be visible.Your surname will show up on girlfriend lists, yet only for your friends.Your name, posts, and comments will certainly be clearly shows to the admins of teams you’re joined.You will have the ability to keep making use of Messenger.

You deserve to deactivate her account because that as long as you’d like, but logging ago in or making use of the account come log right into a linked app/service will certainly prompt the reactivation process.

If you choose to permanently delete your on facebook account:

You won’t have the ability to reactivate her account.All the content you’ve added/uploaded top top Facebook will certainly be gone forever, without the possibility of retrieving it (unless did you do it downloaded an archive of her data beforehand).Apps that use your on facebook account i will not ~ be easily accessible via facebook Login anymore.Specific information, such as messages you’ve sent out to friends, won’t be completely deleted and also will continue to be visible to them.You won’t have the ability to use Messenger.

Facebook provides you 30 days to think about your decision and cancel the deletion process if you adjust your mind. ~ that period expires, your account and all connected data come it will certainly disappear forever. Keep in mind the it may take as much as 90 work for all your information to be permanently deleted – during that period, Facebook users won’t have access to it.

How to Delete your on facebook Account Forever

NOTE: It might be a an excellent idea come download a copy of her information prior to you completely delete your facebook profile. For more info on just how to perform that, take a look in ~ the following section.

If you’ve given it some thought and also you’re prepared to move on from on facebook forever, here’s what you have to do in order come permanently delete your account:

1. Go to her settings page. Alternatively, you can click the arrow in the top-right edge and access your setups from there:

*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
Review of write-ups you’ve make or space tagged in. This is done via the activity Log, therefore if you’ve followed one of our guide above, you’re currently familiar with the process.Visibility of past posts. You can also adjust the privacy setups on previous write-ups you’ve do (but no the ones you’re tagged in – those room in manage of whoever made the post). Fair warning: this deserve to take a many time, as you must review each article separately.How you can be found and also contacted ~ above Facebook. The second fifty percent of the privacy settings enables you to select who have the right to send you friend requests, see your friends list, or uncover your file via your email/phone number. Many importantly, you have the right to decide whether outside search engines will attach to your facebook profile or not.

By making use of the Privacy tab, you deserve to limit future contents you’ll it is in posting come the audience you desire to reach. That said, keep in mind the this list greatly covers basic visibility setups – yes no workaround that allows you apply your new privacy settings to ALL your posts. If you desire your old publication to monitor the very same settings, you’ll need to spend an hour or two reviewing them.

TIP: no interested in write-ups from a few years earlier and want to conserve some time? You have the right to use the task log to delete old contents in bulk. Climate you have the right to review the short articles from the last year or two and adjust their privacy setups as you watch fit.

Other methods to store Your online Data Private

Lately, saying goodbye to facebook has come to be a much easier decision. Component of the is since users now have actually improved access to the tools and settings, yet the best reason is the society media large simply no a friend of your privacy.

With recent events staining its reputation also further, it’s no surprise that an ext and much more people are acquiring off the on facebook train and closing their accounts. But do no mistake – over there are other serious digital threats out there. Take Google because that example.

It may seem choose a huge difficulty to save stay exclusive online this days, yet don’t let this command you to a state the apathy in the direction of your own sensitive data. Friend can constantly check out several an excellent alternatives come Google services that aren’t interested in harvesting extreme quantities of information about you. For much more useful advice on living the digital life in peace, us recommend taking a look at our in-depth guide to online privacy.

See more: " Heaviest Woman In The World Before And After, Carol Yager

Did you find this article useful? If so, re-superstructure it through others who might be interested in deleting their on facebook account. Even on Facebook. Oh, the irony.