The copper Star, likewise known as the copper Star Medal or BSM for short, is a army medal awarded because that heroic achievement, heroic service, meritorious achievement, or meritorious organization in a combat zone. Wear that a “V” machine on the medal is authorized because that acts that valor in combat.

You are watching: How do you get a bronze star

This award may be gift to members of the Army, Navy, wait Force, room Force, naval Corps, and also Coast guard. The may additionally be gift to members of international militaries and also even civilians.

A Brief background of the bronze Star

Established v an executive, management order, the copper Star was designed in 1943 by Colonel Russell Reeder. Some sources organize that Reeder felt that would enhance morale if those who led soldiers in the field had the ability to reward superior service.

Reeder pointed come the development of the waiting Medal as proof that a “boots ~ above the ground” version was needed. In fact, his original name for the award to be the “Ground Medal”.

The wait Medal had remained in use for two years as soon as Reeder to be planning his own version the it for ground forces. The copper Star to be authorized by president Franklin D. Roosevelt in executive Order 9419, 1944, (made retroactive come 7 December 1941).

Amending The executive Order That created The BSM

The conditions for earning the BSM would adjust thanks come President john F. Kennedy, that amended executive, management Order 9419 with Executive order 11046, 1962. This enabled the development of qualifying criteria to encompass those serving with friendly militaries.

Through the amendment, the BSM may be gift to “any person… while serving in any kind of capacity in or with” the unified States. As a result, non-U.S. Troops to be honored with the bronze Star in world War 2, Korea, Vietnam, the Persian Gulf War, Iraq War, and Afghanistan.

The criteria because that earning a copper Star would certainly be amended a second time. The result of those changes allowed those serving on or after September 11, 2001 to it is in awarded a Meritorious company Medal instead of the bronze Star for success in a combat theater.

Who might Award The bronze Star

The copper Star Medal may be awarded by:

Secretary that Homeland security (Coast Guard)Military commanders, or other officers the Secretary might designate

Who may Be awarded A BSM?

Any military member in any kind of branch the service, offer after after ~ December 6, 1941, who distinguishes themselves by heroic or meritorious success or service, “not entailing participation in aerial flight”.

The conditions of the award incorporate a requirement that the meritorious action or service happen:

While engaged in an action against an foe of the United claims orWhile involved in army operations involving dispute with an opposing foreign pressure orWhile serving through friendly international forces engaged in an equipped conflict against an opposing armed force in i beg your pardon the United says is “not a belligerent party”

The demands to earn a BSM are lower than those require to earn the silver Star. They need to be less than what is compelled to earn the Legion that Merit, yet must tho be known as valor, meritorious service, etc.

Bronze Star Controversy

In 2012, following reports the Air force members being subject to harassment after receiving non-combat BSMs, a testimonial of BSM award plans was undertaken. At this time there was a controversy over even if it is the Air force was too liberal in its plans for reviewing BSM submissions.

See more: What Is An Ssid And How Do I Find Ssid Of My Wireless Network

This was not the first time the award went under scrutiny. At the very least one released news item indigenous November 2000, by a Tribune carriers publication consists of this line:

“The waiting Force and Navy brass tainted that award previously this year by passing the end dozens of copper Stars for company in Kosovo come officers and also enlisted world who never left house or never gained within thousands of miles the the fighting.”

According come the air Force, non-combat awards of the bronze Star are reviewed on a case-by-case basis and also that is what helps maintain “the integrity of the award”. There were various other controversial instances that BSMs gift awarded in scenarios that warranted additional review.

Notable BSM Awardees

Many have actually received the bronze Star and also a great number of castle are famed or semi-famous names. They include:

Beau BidenHugh Carey (New York State Governor)Leonard F. Chapman Jr. (24th Commandant of the maritime Corps)Joseph S. Clark Jr. (Mayor the Philadelphia)Erastus Corning 2nd (Mayor that Albany, brand-new York)Tom cotton (Senator)Alan Cozzalio (Army helicopter pilot)Robert E. Cushman Jr.(25th Commandant that the naval Corps)Dieter DenglerDale Dye (Actor)Frank Sutton (Actor)Jeremiah Denton (Senator)Mark Esper (27th Secretary of Defense)Henry Fonda (Actor)Maurice R. Greenberg (CEO that American International team (AIG))Eric Greitens (Governor that Missouri)Bob Gunton (Actor)Colin Powell (65th us Secretary that State)Elliot Richardson (11th united state Secretary the Defense)Max climbed (Representative)Rod Serling (Writer and also creator of The Twilight Zone)Raymond P. Shafer (Governor of Pennsylvania)Lloyd Stowell Shapley (Mathematician)

Joe Wallace is a 13-year veteran that the United says Air Force and also a former reporter for Air force Television News

Related Articles
Highest Ranking U.S. Armed forces MedalsArmed Forces business Medal
Silver StarAir force Cross
Navy CrossDistinguished service Cross